[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[xmca] FW: First Call | 4th International Writing Research Conference - Feb 17-20, 2011

Call for Proposals: Writing Research Across Borders II

George Mason University

February 17-20, 2011

Proposal Deadline May 3, 2010

As societies become more knowledge-intensive and communication technologies
draw us more closely together, the importance of writing in economic,
scientific, civic, personal, and social development becomes more apparent.
Correspondingly, the imperative to conduct research on writing in schools
and the workplace, in relationship to learning and development, and in all
aspects of our lives has invigorated work among scholars in all regions of
the world. The conference Writing Research Across Borders II will provide an
opportunity for researchers to share their findings and set research agendas
for the coming years.

Continuing the success of the three previous international research
conferences held at the University of California, Santa Barbara, the 2011
Writing Research Across Borders II will be held at George Mason University
in the Washington D.C./Northern Virginia area.  We invite proposals that
will continue to deepen the cross-disciplinary, international dialogues
across the many different domains of writing research.  

As in past years, this conference will focus on writing development across
the lifespan, including the impact of new technologies on learning to write,
early acquisition of writing, writing across grade levels (K-20), writing in
the disciplines and professions, and writing in the workplace or other
community and institutional settings. We invite proposals presenting
research in these areas. We also invite proposals on any other areas of
writing use and practice, such as writing in progressive or large scale
educational programs, or proposals that link writing research and policies.
We welcome papers raising methodological issues about researching writing.
We invite work from any research tradition that is grounded in the
tradition?s previous research and pursues the methodical gathering of
qualitative or quantitative data appropriate to its claims.  

Proposals should identify the format preferred (panels, roundtables,
individual presentations, and poster presentations). Individual or poster
proposals should be a maximum of 500 words. Proposals with multiple
presentations (panel and roundtable) should contain a short overview
statement and then no more than 400 words per speaker. Proposals should
specify the relevant research literatures, research questions, methods,
data, and findings, as well as the scope and duration of the research

The deadline for proposals is May 3, 2010. Please submit proposals in .doc
or .rtf format by email attachment to <writing@education.ucsb.edu>.  Also,
be sure to include a title for your proposal and each speaker?s individual
talk, as well as contact information for each individual presenter.  

Writing Research across Borders II Scientific Committee

Paula Carlino	Argentina	University of Buenos Aires
Kate Chanock 	Australia	Latrobe
Luuk van Waas	Belgium	University of Antwerp
Desiree Motta-Roth	Brasil	Universidade Federal de Santa Maria
Giovanni Parodi Sweis	Brasil	Pontificia Universidad Católica de
Dilamar Araujo 	Brazil	Universidade Estadual do Ceará (UECE)
Angela Dionisio 	Brazil	UFP, Recife
Angela Kleimann	Brazil	Unicamp-Sao Paulo
Céline Beaudet	Canada	Université de Sherbrooke
Anthony Pare 	Canada	McGill University
Catherine Schryer	Canada	University of Waterloo
Graham Smart	Canada	Carleton University
Doreen Starke-Meyering	Canada	McGill University
Chen Huijun  	China	China University of Geosciences
Blanca Yaneth Gonzalez Pinzon	Colombia	Universidad Nacional de
Denis Alamargot	France	University of Poitiers
Francoise Boch	France	Université Stendhal
Michel Fayol	France	University Blaise Pascal
Sylvie Plane	France	IUMF de Paris
Pietro Boscolo	Italy	University of Padua
Fatima Encinas	Mexico	Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla
Nancy Susan Keranen	Mexico	Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla
Emilia Ferreiro 	Mexico	National Polytechnic Institute
Gert Rijlaarsdam	Netherlands	University of Amsterdam
Olga Dysthe	Norway	University of Bergen
Sigmund Ongstad	Norway	Oslo University College
Lilliana Tolchinsky	Spain	University of Barcelona
Magnus Gustaffson	Sweden	Chalmers University of Technology
Åsa Wengelin	Sweden	Lund University
Otto Kruse	Switzerland	Zurich University of Applied Sciences
Daniel Perrin	Switzerland	Zurich University of Applied Sciences
David Barton	UK	Lancaster University
David Galbraith	UK	University of Staffordshire
Ken Hyland	UK	University of London
Roz Ivanic	UK	Lancaster University
Gunther Kress	UK	University of London
Greg Myers	UK	Lancaster University
Brian Street	UK	Kings College-London
Mark Torrance	UK	University of Staffordshire
Chris Anson	USA	North Carolina State 
Arthur Applebee	USA	SUNY Albany
Arnetha Ball	USA	Stanford 
Chuck Bazerman	USA	University of California, Santa Barbara
Anne Beaufort	USA	University of Washington, Tacoma
Virgina Berninger	USA	University of Washington
Vijay Bhatia	USA	City University of Hong Kong
Deborah Brandt	USA	University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ralph Cintron	USA	University of Illinois at Chicago
Ulla Connor	USA	Indiana University-Purdue University 
Christiane Donahue	USA	University of Maine, Farmington
Peter Elbow	USA	University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Sarah Freedman	USA	Berkeley
Steve Graham	USA	Vanderbilt
Christina Haas	USA	Kent State University
Richard Haswell	USA	TAMU Corpus Christi
Dick Hayes	USA	Carnegie-Mellon University
Doug Hesse	USA	University of Denver
George Hillocks	USA	University of Chicago
Tom Huckin	USA	University of Utah
Ron Kellogg	USA	St. Louis University
Gesa Kirsch	USA	Bentley College
Paul LaMaheiu	USA	University of California, Berkeley
Neal Learner	USA	MIT
Andrea Lunsford	USA	Stanford 
Karen Lunsford	USA	University of California, Santa Barbara
Skip MacArthur	USA	University of Delaware
Paul Matsuda	USA	Arizona State 
Cezar Ornatowski	USA	San Diego State
Mike Palmquist	USA	Colorado State University
Paul Prior	USA	University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Anne Ruggles Gere	USA	University of Michigan
David Russell	USA	Iowa State University
Mary Schleppegrell	USA	University of Michigan
Peter Smagorinsky	USA	University of Georgia
Clay Spinuzzi	USA	University of Texas, Austin
Chris Thaiss	USA	University of California, Davis
Joanna Wolfe	USA	University of Louisville
Terry Zawacki	USA	George Mason University

xmca mailing list