[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[xmca] FW: Search committee seeks dean for UGA's College of Education

Friday, April 27, 2012

Writer:  Sharron Hannon, 706/583-0728, shannon@uga.edu<mailto:shannon@uga.edu>
Contact:  Jere Morehead, 706/583-0506, morehead@uga.edu<mailto:morehead@uga.edu>

Search committee seeks dean for UGA's College of Education

Athens, Ga. - University of Georgia Provost Jere Morehead has appointed a committee to begin a national search to fill the position of dean of UGA's College of Education. Current Dean Arthur Horne has indicated his intention to retire at the end of December 2012. Horne has been at UGA since 1989 and has served as dean since 2008.

"Dr. Horne has provided extraordinary service to the College of Education throughout his UGA career, and he has been an outstanding leader of the college as dean," Morehead said. "I appreciate his willingness to continue as dean while we undertake a national search for his successor."
Daniel Nadenicek, dean of UGA's College of Environment and Design, will chair the search committee that includes faculty from each of the nine departments within the College of Education, as well as staff and student representatives and Philip Lanoue, superintendent of the Clarke County School District.

Faculty members on the search committee include JoBeth Allen, president of the college's Faculty Senate; Scott Ardoin, associate professor in the department of educational psychology and instructional technology; Laura Bierema, professor in the department of lifelong education, administration and policy; Cynthia Dillard, Mary Frances Early Professor of Teacher Education in the department of elementary and social studies education; Ellen Evans, associate professor in the department of kinesiology; Roger Hill, head of the department of workforce education, leadership and social foundations; Jeremy Kilpatrick, Regents Professor in the department of mathematics and science education; Anne Bothe Marcotte, professor in the department of communication sciences and special education; Peter Smagorinsky, Distinguished Research Professor in the department of language and literacy education; and Gayle Spears, academic professional in the department of counseling and human development services.

Aldon Knight, executive director of development for the college, is the staff representative to the committee.  Student representatives are Marcus Pollard, a graduate student in workforce education, leadership and social foundations, and Vanessa Doyley, an undergraduate in kinesiology.

The committee will be assisted by UGA's Executive and Faculty Search Group.

The College of Education, founded in 1908, is one of the largest and most diverse institutions of its kind in the nation, offering 16 undergraduate majors and more than 30 graduate programs leading to careers as educators, counselors, psychologists, administrators, researchers, and educational and health-related specialists.



Public Affairs - News Service
286 Oconee St., Ste. 200N
Athens, GA  30602-1999
Tel.: (706) 542-8083
Fax : (706) 542-3939

xmca mailing list