[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[Xmca-l] Re: [Fwd: Request from Karger publishing on their 125th anniversary]




Sounds great, ag

On Wed, January 21, 2015 9:36 pm, mike cole wrote:
> My vote would be for some of the papers referred to by LSV and his
> colleagues between
> roughly 1925-1934 which are not in English. Anyone able to identify things
> they would like
> to read? I will try to go back and check out my own wish list.
>
> If people could nominate candidates on xmca so other could see, it might
> facilitate.
> We could then send the Kargers and Larry a collective wish list.
>
> mike
>
>
>
> On Wed, Jan 21, 2015 at 7:03 PM, Andy Blunden <ablunden@mira.net> wrote:
>
>> Perhaps one of the papers by Luria which Mike has in his collection:
>> http://luria.ucsd.edu/Articles-by-Luria/Luria-by-Language.html
>>
>> Andy
>> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
>> *Andy Blunden*
>> http://home.pacific.net.au/~andy/
>>
>>
>> Goncu, Artin wrote:
>>
>>> Are there any suggestions from the xmca community?  You can either
>>> write
>>> to Larry Nucci directly or send me your suggestions and I will forward
>>> them to him.  Best, ag
>>>
>>>
>>> ---------------------------- Original Message
>>> ----------------------------
>>> Subject: Request from Karger publishing on their 125th anniversary
>>> From:    "Larry Nucci" <nucci@berkeley.edu>
>>> Date:    Wed, January 21, 2015 5:22 pm
>>> To:      "ILEANA ENESCO ARANA" <ienesco@psi.ucm.es>
>>>          "Cynthia Garcia Coll" <Cynthia_Garcia_Coll@brown.edu>
>>>          "Goncu, Artin" <Goncu@uic.edu>
>>>          "bente.hagtvet@isp.uio.no" <bente.hagtvet@isp.uio.no>
>>>          "harrispa@gse.harvard.edu" <harrispa@gse.harvard.edu>
>>>          "Prof. C.J. Howe" <cjh82@cam.ac.uk>
>>>          "Lewis, Charlie" <c.lewis@lancaster.ac.uk>
>>>          "Melanie A. Killen" <mkillen@umd.edu>
>>>          "willis.overton@temple.edu" <willis.overton@temple.edu>
>>>          "Barbara Rogoff" <brogoff@ucsc.edu>
>>>          "Ruck, Martin" <MRuck@gc.cuny.edu>
>>>          "Geoffrey B. SAXE" <saxe@berkeley.edu>
>>>          "Liliane.Sprenger-Charolles@univ-paris5.fr"
>>> <Liliane.Sprenger-Charolles@univ-paris5.fr>
>>>          "Elsbeth Stern" <stern@ifv.gess.ethz.ch>
>>>          "keiko-ta@fb3.so-net.ne.jp" <keiko-ta@fb3.so-net.ne.jp>
>>>          "tomas@eva.mpg.de" <tomas@eva.mpg.de>
>>>          "Elliot TURIEL" <turiel@berkeley.edu>
>>>          "Stella Vosniadou" <svosniad@phs.uoa.gr>
>>>          "Cecilia Wainryb" <cecilia.wainryb@psych.utah.edu>
>>>          "Youniss, James" <Youniss@cua.edu>
>>>          "silviar@servidor.unam.mx" <silviar@servidor.unam.mx>
>>>          "sitakura@bun.kyoto-u.ac.jp" <sitakura@bun.kyoto-u.ac.jp>
>>>          "Phil Zelazo" <zelazo@umn.edu>
>>>          "Susan Rivera" <srivera@ucdavis.edu>
>>>          "Na&#39,ilah Nasir" <nailahs@berkeley.edu>
>>>          "Terezinha Nunes" <terezinha.nunes@education.ox.ac.uk>
>>>          "Marc_H_Bornstein@nih.gov" <Marc_H_Bornstein@nih.gov>
>>>          "Deborah Powers" <powersdw@berkeley.edu>
>>>          "judith.smetana@rochester.edu" <judith.smetana@rochester.edu>
>>>          "Alexandra M. Freund" <freund@psychologie.uzh.ch>
>>>          "David Witherington" <dcwither@unm.edu>
>>> Cc:      "Karger, Gabriella" <g.karger@karger.com>
>>> ------------------------------------------------------------
>>> --------------
>>>
>>> Dear Members of the HD Editorial Board -
>>>
>>> This year marks the 125th anniversary of Karger Publishing.  As many of
>>> you
>>> know, Karger is one of the few remaining family owned scientific
>>> publishers.  They have been remarkably supportive of Human Development.
>>>  I
>>> recently received the request below from Gabriella Karger that is
>>> connected
>>> with the activities she is coordinating to mark this special occasion.
>>> Please take a moment to read her request, and send any suggestions for
>>> such
>>> highly significant research papers to me, so that I may gather together
>>> your suggestions and send them to her.
>>>
>>>
>>> With best regards,
>>>
>>> Larry
>>>
>>> Dear Professor Nucci,
>>>
>>> Whilst the year is still young, I am contacting you as Editor of Human
>>> Development, for your input and advice. As you may already know, Karger
>>> Publishers will celebrate its 125th anniversary this year. To mark this
>>> occasion, we would like to attempt something a little out of the
>>> ordinary.
>>> When my great-grand father founded the publishing house, English wasn't
>>> the
>>> scientific ââ,¬Å"lingua francaââ,¬ . This is a relatively recent
>>> phenomenon,
>>> many
>>> great scientists published their work in other languages. Good
>>> translations
>>> are often either unavailable or difficult to locate. Being able to
>>> understand the meaning of what the original author wrote and this
>>> often-cited foundations upon which modern work is built, is surely of
>>> vital
>>> importance.
>>>
>>> During our anniversary year, we would like to put together a
>>> "collection"
>>> of the most significant scientific work that was not originally
>>> published
>>> in English and make a corresponding collection of translations
>>> available
>>> to
>>> the scientific community on our website. May we kindly appeal to you to
>>> help us with this? The challenge is to identify the most important
>>> articles
>>> in the whole field of biomedical science. *If you would let us know a
>>> handful of the most significant papers in your field of expertise not
>>> available in English *(naming author, title and wherever possible, the
>>> source), we will check whether a translation of suitable quality
>>> already
>>> exists, look into the copyright issue and arrange to have an english
>>> translation made if none is available. Mendel's pioneering work
>>> (Versuche
>>> Ãf¼ber Pflanzen-Hybriden) dating from 1865/6 is a suitable starting
>>> point
>>> in
>>> time.
>>>
>>> We do hope that you can participate with us together in what should
>>> hopefully prove to be an interesting project. Raising the profile of
>>> milestones in science and making these more accessible, should benefit
>>> all.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>
> --
> It is the dilemma of psychology to deal with a natural science as an
> object
> that creates history. Ernst Boesch.
>
>


Artin Goncu, Ph.D
Co-editor, Mind, Culture, and Activity:An International Journal
Professor Emeritus,
University of Illinois at Chicago
College of Education M/C 147
1040 W. Harrison St.
Chicago, IL 60607